How to Get a California Driver's Permit
Remember the 3 Ps to Getting Your Permit: Prepare. Provide. Pass!
- Must be between the ages of 15½ and 18.
- Complete approved CA driver education or enroll in driver education/training program.
- Complete the application form DL 44. Must be the original form with your parents' or guardians' signatures.
- The DMV encourages you to make an appointment at the DMV office for faster service.
- Bring the required forms.
- Submit your driver ed certificate (or driver training enrollment forms) to the DMV.
- Provide your social security number.
- Verify your birth date and legal presence with the appropriate documentation.
- Provide your true full name if your name no longer matches the name on your birth date legal presence document.
- Give a thumb print.
- Have your picture taken.
- Pay a $33 application fee.
- Pass a vision exam.
- Pass a traffic laws and sign test. There are 46 questions. You have 3 chances to pass with a 39 out of 46 minimum score. If you are worried about passing or need a refresher take a look at our permit prep which includes DMV practice tests, insider tips for testing, videos and exam prep.
Quick answers to the most common California Driver Ed Course questions.
When will I get my certificate?
You should receive your certificate via first class mail within 10 business days.
Are there any extra fees?
The course fee you pay during registration includes everything you need, including the certificate. There are no extra fees.
Do I have to take a written test?
Our driver ed is 100% online, including the exam. You will have to take a test at the DMV when you apply for your permit or license.
- Money-Back Guarantee!*
- Approved Online Training
- 24/7 Customer Support
- Log On and Off As Needed